Leading The Way For Tomorrow

Since 1970, Leadership Tampa has introduced its class members to major facets of the greater Tampa community through an intensive professional development course. Founded by the Tampa Bay Chamber, Leadership Tampa’s members participate in educational sessions, tours and candid conversations with community leaders. Topics including law enforcement, education, social services, the environment, economic development and the arts, just to name a few! These program days challenge members to see their community as they never have before. To enhance the program day experience, class members are required to participate in a law enforcement ride-a-long as well as a teacher shadowing day.

Tampa Bay needs principled leaders now more than ever. In these strange and unprecedented times, there are numerous opportunities for people with strong beliefs and a desire to make a difference to lean in. As we all are living and working through the difficulties of the COVID-19 pandemic, our hometown needs people who can come together and help set the stage for our shared future. This is a critical time for a new generation of leaders to emerge and move us forward. Members of Leadership Tampa are business/professional people who hold leadership positions within their companies or organizations. Leadership Tampa is committed to having a diverse and dynamic class.

Leadership Tampa members meet every other week for briefings, tours, seminars and hands-on learning. In addition, the class participates in an Opening Retreat and a Tallahassee Retreat. The Leadership Tampa program agendas bring in top-level business, civic, and government leaders for an interactive and behind the scenes look at Tampa.

Applications for the Leadership Tampa Class of 2021 will open Aug. 28 and close Oct. 2, 2020.

Also see

LT '21 Schedule

Date* Action
Wed., Dec. 9, 2020 Kick Off, 5:30 - 7:30 PM
Jan. 4-5, 2021 Opening Retreat
Wed., Jan. 20, 2021 Program 1
Wed., Feb. 3, 2021 Program 2
Wed., Feb. 17, 2021 Program 3
Wed., Mar. 3, 2021 Program 4
Wed., Mar. 10, 2021 Program 5
Mar. 22-23 or Mar. 23-24, 2021 Tallahassee Retreat
Wed., Apr. 7, 2021 Program 6
Wed., Apr. 21, 2021 Program 7
Wed., May 5, 2021 Program 8
Wed., May 19, 2021 Program 9
Wed., Jun. 2, 2021 Program 10
Wed., Jun. 16, 2021 Program 11
Wed., Jun. 23, 2021 Graduation, 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Wed., Jul. 14, 2021 Breakfast Debrief, 8:00 AM - Noon

* Dates are subject to change.

Programs are all day sessions (7 AM - 5 PM), unless otherwise noted. Program topics will be confirmed prior to the class announcement.